The New CD: The Infancy Gospels EP

UPDATE 25 Nov 2016: The first CD pressing of The Infancy Gospels EP has now sold out, but digital/download-only copies can be purchased from bandcamp.  Details of the next physical pressing will be announced soon - join our mailing list for early notification.  Links contained in the article below for pre-ordering the CD are currently invalid.

The Infancy Gospels EP is the latest CD release from Disjecta Membra.  Copies are very limited, and presales are available now from Bandcamp, while stocks last.

The EP comes in a limited edition of 100 individually hand-numbered CDs, packaged in slimline jewel cases with 2-page inserts, featuring artwork by Isobel Te Aho-White, and photography by James Walter Black and Alexander Hallag.

All presale orders from bandcamp receive:

  • Immediate download of The Infancy Gospels EP, in your choice of high-quality MP3, or lossless FLAC, WAV (etc), + unlimited streaming via the bandcamp app
  • A free bonus download of last year’s Death by Discothèque remixes EP will also be emailed to you

Specials are also available when ordering The Infancy Gospels CD and Disjecta Membra t-shirts together.  We recommend this package as a value-for-money option, particularly if you’re having your order shipped internationally.

This five-song snapshot collection serves to document a previous line-up of the band, made up of founding member Michel Rowland and fellow mainstay Kane Davey, alongside Matthew Tāmati Scott and Isobel Te Aho-White, who both left the group late last year.  The EP also features acclaimed taonga pūoro instrumentalist Rob Thorne on a new mix of last year’s radio single, ‘Whakataurangi Ake’; previously unavailable on disc. 

Initially devised as a promotional sampler, the material comprising The Infancy Gospels EP had been selected to showcase something of the band’s stylistic range.  Accordingly, the EP opens with the ancient-meets-modern treatment of the late Pumi Taituha’s Maniapoto anthem ‘Whakataurangi Ake’, before segueing into the ferocious, noise-laden, swamp-rock’n’roll of the title track.  The band continues moving sharply from the spiky post-punk/proto-goth stylings of ‘Lilītu’, to the swooning, fairytale folk romanticism of ‘Cernunnos’, and at last concludes, almost alarmingly, with the bittersweet synthpop of ‘Madeleine! Madelaine!’. 

And it’s this striking eclecticism that has garnered immediate praise and attention for the EP.  “They’ve covered all bases with this one here”, writes IKON’s Chris McCarter; “something for everyone and more.  Great work indeed.”

Recorded (mostly) in July-August 2015, The Infancy Gospels EP was engineered and produced by Bryan Tabuteau of Molière Recording.  A veritable linchpin of Wellington’s dark music underground, Bryan also promotes events under the Junk DNA banner, including the monthly Noise|Drone|Repeat nights at Valhalla Tavern.  He is a pivotal member of Crash-Scan, Nullity and Узб96, and has even performed his duty to Goth and to country as a rope-in for Disjecta Membra. 

More recently, with Michel, Kane and bassist Jaz Murphy pressing forward with new work, it was decided that the previous line-up’s best recorded work together should not be left to languish unreleased.  Bryan and Michel revisited the material over September-October 2016, preparing final mixes and masters for official release. 

On the EP, C. Haze of Six Noises writes:

The Infancy Gospels reveals a band in motion, with Disjecta Membra expanding their sound and taking risks on their most diverse recording yet. That said, long-time fans, there’s really no need to panic. Disjecta Membra might be broadening their range, but pre-eminent and gothic are descriptors that still hold true (…) today, folk, post-punk, synthpop, noise, new wave, no wave, drone, blues, swamp and garage rock, and traditional Māori influences all play a role in Disjecta Membra’s sound (…) The Infancy Gospels also marks the parting of ways for two members of the band: keyboardist and guitarist Matthew Tāmati Scott, and bassist and vocal contributor Isobel Te Aho-White. Rowland has noted that The Infancy Gospels is, in part, a tribute to that line-up. But the EP seems also to be drawing a line in the sand, marking a new stepping-off point. (…) Twenty-three years and innumerable hurdles later, Disjecta Membra are seeking out fresh artistic challenges, while still creating haunting, original music. How many other long-running bands could say the same? As dark and dramatic as always, Disjecta Membra continue to impress and inspire.”

Read the rest of Mr. Haze’s shining, insightful and in-depth review here, while listening to an exclusive Six Noises première mix of the CD’s title track. 

Physical copies of the new CD will commence shipping out to fans from 17 November.  Thanks to the presale response, it is likely that they will have already sold out before then.  We recommend that you order it now.